Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

Fastpitch Discussions

Does your coach or catcher call pitches?

What's on your mind?

by Sue Trubovitz, Turbo » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:39 am

Like to open up discussion on the pros and cons and coaching strategies behind one decision or the other. In travel ball.

Can report about half of my catching students get to call pitches in travel ball from 10U through 18U. Can share over the years the catchers who call pitches generally have a better connection with their pitchers especially in recognizing day-to-day differences in pitch movement and control.
Sue Trubovitz, Turbo
Premium Member
Premium Member

by FastpitchPros » Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:37 am

Hello Sue,
Thanks for your post. As a pitching coach, I see both sides of the issues.

As you probably know, one of the biggest issues in today's fastpitch... is that not enough catchers have been properly trained to "receive the ball and frame the catch" Not catch the ball and move the glove... ugh :(

Let alone... have a clue how to call pitches... other than guessing.

But that is the same problem with youth softball coaches... even paid coaches are not properly trained how to call pitches.

As the more advanced (trained) catchers progress up to the higher play levels... they have LEARNED what pitches worked and why... and should be able to call pitches!

However, no catcher should EVER be forced to call pitches... if they are uncomfortable. They should want to learn "how to call pitches".

Even though the catcher might be fully trained on how to call pitches... some coaches will never allow them to do so... and no one will never convince them otherwise because these coaches know everything - just ask them :)

Every coach and every catcher is different.

In college, there is usually a coach that calls pitches... mostly because they have all the batter's hitting and scouting data in their hands for every batter.