Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

Fastpitch Discussions

Is travel ball really travel ball?

What's on your mind?

by Coach_Gonzalez » Thu Jan 24, 2008 9:54 am

It seems like the travel ball world has dramatically changed. Now, I am only 22 but I coach and instruct and it seems like anyone can play travel ball these days. If an athlete can not make a travel team, then they either find another or else their dad starts a team so they can play "travel." Now this is my first year out of college baseball but the world of baseball/softball has dramatically changed. In my time...around 8 years ago when I began playing travel, I was hand-picked to play travel, as were every other player on my team. 100% of our players went on to play ball in college, junior college, or got drafted. There were no pity positions or positions filled by athletes who wanted to play travel, they were athletes who earned the travel experience. Now I am all about providing students of the game with the best opportunities, but we are handing it to them on a silver platter. Because of it, public and in-house leagues are struggling, and travel ball has been watered down into something that does nothing for the player in the future. Travel got me into college ball in some ways because I played for a prestigious team, it taught me life lessons, and I was cultured in the game. Are we doing players a favor? Why do we let athletes water down the game? To protect us from their tears or them? This really bothers me for some reason. Anyone else in the same boat as me?
Coach_Gonzalez

by ManitouDan » Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:03 am