Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

Fastpitch Discussions

Scoring Brain Farts

What's on your mind?

by GIMNEPIWO » Thu May 19, 2016 9:38 pm

1st ; A pitcher gives up a triple and the run scores on her error when she boots the cut off ... ER or no ? (not my pitcher, I have the first basegal take the cut and the pitcher backing up the lead runner)

2nd ; Batter runner bunts the ball fair and steps on it / runs into it ... I seem top remember the catcher gets the put out , but too tired to think :oops:
"For the strength of the pack is the wolf, the strength of the wolf is the pack" Rudyard Kipling
GIMNEPIWO

by jtat32 » Thu May 19, 2016 11:38 pm

I'll take a shot, but I'm no expert.

#1 Depends on what happens after. If the run would have scored anyway (next batter gets a single, for example), then it is earned. Or, if there were two outs and the batter makes an out, it is unearned.

#2 Whomever is closest to the ball when the batter steps on it get's the put out.
jtat32
Premium Member
Premium Member

by PDad » Fri May 20, 2016 11:15 am

#1 As jtat posted, you need to determine if she would have scored anyway without the error (ER) or not (unearned). Unless the pitcher's error prevented them from getting the runner out, you need to consider whether she would have scored on a subsequent play while giving the pitcher the benefit of any doubt.

#2. Scoring rules for outs not recorded by a fielder are basically split by case between the catcher and the nearest fielder. NCAA scoring rules appear to award this one to the catcher, however their combo of "batter" and "batted fair ball" seems problematic.

14.19.2.4 A batter is out for being touched by her own fair batted ball while one or both feet are completely out of the batter’s box or for stepping on home plate.

The closest case for nearest fielder isn't applicable since base runner only covers those already on base at the time of the pitch.