Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

The Umpire Corner

Which coach can ask question to an ump?

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by ice_67 » Tue Dec 08, 2009 12:32 pm

Is there a rule(ASA) that restricts which coach can ask questions to an umpire? We have 3 coaches, can anyone of them approach an ump and challenge a call or ask for an explaination? Please site the rule #. I couldn't find anything in the ASA rulebook, but I might have missed it.

Thanks
"[b] Let no player say, if only i had tried harder"
ice_67

by cent » Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:24 pm

Here was the situation. I wanted to challenge a call at 2nd base as the Head Coach. I went out to the field umpire to challenge his call or at least see if the other umpire might have seen it differently. Have done this since I have been coaching fastpitch softball for the 17 years I have been coaching.

The F1 said that I could not challenge the call as I did not attend the 'Home Plate' Meeting. That only the coach who went to the home plate meeting could challenge the call. I have never, never heard this in all my years. He told me it was in the ASA Rule Book.

Well, probably you umpires will not like how I handled this situation from there, but I was trying to prove a point. From then on I would go to that F1 umpire to challenge a call. He would tell me to go to the assistant coach who went to the home plate meeting. I would slowly walk back to the dugout and get my assistant coach to slowly walk out on the field to challenge the call.

Needless to say, this really slowed down the game which was ridiculous. Is there really such a rule.
cent
Premium Member
Premium Member

by GIMNEPIWO » Tue Dec 08, 2009 1:57 pm