Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

The Umpire Corner

Obstruction

Rule question? Get it answered here.

by narcosis » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:09 pm

For some reason I can't search, so if this has been asked and answered I'm sorry. Base runner on first (the only base runner). Batter hits a single to the outfield. Base runner on first rounds second to go to third. SS obstructs the base runner and the field ump sticks arm out for obstruction. When the field ump's arm goes out I tell the third base coach to wave base runner home (yes I am a coach). The third base coach stops the runner at 3rd. I was thinking that if she doesn't slow down, no matter what happens at home (out or safe) the run scores because of the obstruction.

In between innings, the plate ump said the 3rd base coach was right to stop her and gave me this explanation. The only base the runner could get without the chance of being called out was the next base the runner was attempting to gain. He stated if the base runner had continued home and was thrown out then they play would have counted as an out at home.

This was an ASA game.

Was the plate ump correct in his ruling? I remember a WCWS game where this happened but the player was ruled as scoring (runner obstructed by SS and coach sending her home, was thrown out at home but ruled safe due to obstruction). The reason gave by the commentators and rules person was the base runner was safe due to the runner not slowing down when they were sent home. If the player had slowed down they would have been sent back to third.
Last edited by narcosis on Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
narcosis

by PDad » Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:41 pm

Wow, that was quite an edit on the OP...