Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

IN

Setting limits on how many pitches/innings a girl can pitch

by TZ0204 » Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:30 pm

I have to ask why girls do not have a limit on how many pitches they can throw in tournaments like boys do in travel ball? I am new to the softball scene so just trying to get some thoughts on this. Thanks!
TZ0204

by happy » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:15 pm

I've seen many "attacks" on parents lately posted on this forum for letting their kids pitch too many innings. Don't be too quick to judge, because there are many variables here. First of all, there has been much research done on the effects of overhand throwing on arm/shoulder health. So much so that USA baseball has come up with a max recommended number depending on age. (For ex, 3000 pitches per year for 13 year old, or 85 per game). Softball pitching, however, is different. The underhand motion is more natural & puts less stress on growing elbows/shoulders. This doesn't mean that there is no limit to how much you can pitch without injury, but not enough research to come up with a number. Secondly, every kid is different. You may have an 11 year old who has gone through puberty and is nearly done growing, and another 11 year old who hasn't. And within that the structure & musculature of the joints are different in each kid. Not to mention, I've seen some pitchers who pitch, warming up, for an hour before going into a game! And others who warm up for 10 minutes. Use common sense, if they look tired, and their arm hurts the next day, they probably pitched too much. But pitching too much for 1 tournament because the team's other pitcher(s) is sick isn't going to destroy an arm, it's what you do over and over on a regular basis.
happy

by happy » Thu Apr 25, 2013 1:32 pm