Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

TX

Dual Credit...

by Battle » Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:28 pm

How does dual credit classes affect your HS GPA? For example...If a kid has a 4.0 and takes two college class with dual credit in HS and makes a B in both, does it bring down their HS GPA?

Has anyone heard of having too many college classes in HS therefore affecting how much scholarship money is given?
We herd sheep, we drive cattle, we lead people. Lead me, follow me, or get out of my way!
Battle

by MavFan » Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:26 pm

I am no expert Battle, but I believe the B would be included in the HS GPA.

As far as too many college credits, my kid has 9 credits from AP classes and it had no impact on the amount of her scholarship, in fact she had already signed the NLI prior to taking any of the AP exams and had already received her admission and academic award letter prior to taking the AP exams.
MavFan

by hitforpower » Sun Dec 23, 2012 11:31 am

Mav is correct. The B would count towards the HS GPA. Also is could affect her class rank which could keep her from being in the top 10%. A kid who takes no AP or Dual credit classes and makes all As would have a higher class rank than a kid who takes AP and Dual credit classes and has a B or two.

I think it is still a better option for kids to take AP and dual credit cources but there are some things to consider.
hitforpower

by Battle » Sun Dec 23, 2012 6:13 pm

Thanks Y'all. I never could find anything specific on this and that's why I asked here but I did see something interesting while I was searching. If I read it right, an AP class weighs more than a DC class. I knew that both weighs more than a regular class but thought AP and DC were the same weight.
We herd sheep, we drive cattle, we lead people. Lead me, follow me, or get out of my way!
Battle

by Bleacher Creature » Mon Dec 24, 2012 7:44 am