Follow
Donate to HeyBucket.com - Amount:

Welcome Anonymous !

Your Fastpitch Softball Bible

Tip & Drills

Bunting Defense

Must be a registered user to be able to post.

by B34R DOWN » Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:46 pm

I am relatively new to coaching softball, so I need some help. My DD is moving up to 10U Rec Fall Ball and I will be taking a team (they must be desperate... lol)...

So my question is should we have the 1st basemen stay on 1st and not crash or have her crash and let the 2nd basemen cover 1st? I know in 8U we kept it simple and let the 1st basemen stay as she was normally the best girl at catching a throw. I know skill level of the infielders will be a key factor, but I always wondered why the 3rd basemen, pitcher, and catcher aren't enough people to cover all areas of a bunt.

Thanks in advance for any input...
B34R DOWN

by B34R DOWN » Wed Jul 16, 2014 9:56 am

:?:
B34R DOWN

by rfmnz » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:11 am

Depends on skill level of players, IMO. Each situation is different, but at the league my dd plays at we have to rotate girls into different positions so they don't play OF or sit the entire game. 2nd base is usually the position coaches choose to rotate those players in at. That being said, think you have to size up who ever is playing 2B and decide if she is better at fielding/throwing or setting up & catching the ball.
Last edited by rfmnz on Wed Jul 16, 2014 11:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
rfmnz

by hit4power » Wed Jul 16, 2014 10:24 am

Any reason not to start by having F3 stay at the bag since that seems to be your inclination and see how it goes?

OTOH, why not use Rec ball to teach all the players the right way to do things (meaning having F3 crash and F4 cover 1B in most cases) so they are better prepared for the older/higher levels of play? You might not win as many games, but heck, it's Rec League, it should be about instruction more than winning,... ;)
hit4power
Premium Member
Premium Member